Book Review 5 – The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

I’ve finally come “of age” (as my mother likes to tell me) to read this book, and I am so glad that I did.

Right from the beginning it is clear that there is a special bond between Amir, the son of a wealthy Afghan businessman, and Hassan is his servant’s son – but Hosseini’s real talent is crafting a wholly unknown bond between the Amir and Hassan and adding twists and turns to the plot. The exotic scents of Kabul were only a backdrop for this amazing novel, and even when the Soviets invaded and the Taliban took control of the country and Amir moved to California and started a new life there, his regret of what he did on a fateful day in Kabul eventually led him back to his home country for a sort of redemption and forgiveness of himself. There are so many life lessons in this story, which is what makes it so unbelievably powerful. My favorite aspect of the entire novel would be the way Hosseini pieced together the novel so perfectly – I loved how moments at the beginning tied together well with moments and dialogue near the end and in the middle of the story. Let’s just say that I had some major aha moments.

From start to finish, this was an amazing novel that kept me hooked – I couldn’t put it down and had to know what happened next! It’s really hard to review this book without giving much away, so I’ll keep this short and sweet. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning the real story of the war-ravaged country of Afghanistan, and who enjoys novels about friendship and inner forgiveness.

“There is a way to be good again.” – Rahim Khan

“For you, a thousand times over.” – Hassan

-writersblock55

3 thoughts on “Book Review 5 – The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Leave a Reply

