Book Review 4 – The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls

First, a powerful quote:

“Things usually work out in the end.”

“What if they don’t?”

“That just means you haven’t come to the end yet.”

It’s amazing how a family that was so dysfunctional can still warm your heart. The Walls family, as cataloged in Jeanette Walls’s groundbreaking memoir, The Glass Castle, did all that and more. Right from the very beginning, I was astounded at the kind of family that the author herself grew up in – at some parts throughout the novel I had to remind myself that it was actually a memoir and not fiction.

Jeanette’s father, when he was sober, possessed innumerable knowledge about physics, the cosmos, and how to live life – but when he was drunk, he nearly shattered his family’s hearts into pieces. Her mother didn’t see the value in caring for children, and encouraged them to fend for themselves (I was thinking – why would she even have kids?). Jeanette recounts her first memory when she burned herself while she was cooking a hot dog – when she was THREE YEARS OLD. Yes, that’s right. And after she got better (and her dad pulled her out of the hospital), her mother  encouraged her to  continue cooking, saying something like (this is not a direct quote) “you need to face your fears.”

From the beginning, I knew this book was going to make me experience a roller coaster of emotions, but I was ready.

The Walls family was always running from something – Jeanette and her siblings Brian, Maurine and Lori, don’t even recall the number of houses they have lived in. When Jeanette was younger, they moved between desert towns in Arizona and California, but when she got older, her family ran out of money and resorted to living in the dreary town of Welch, WV where her grandmother lived. The only beacon of hope was their father’s promise to build a Glass Castle, an engineering feat with high glass ceilings and stunning architecture. This never happened, of course, and one by one, all of his children lost faith in him – except Jeanette.

As the Walls siblings learn to stick together and face challenges such as not having enough to eat, they eventually make their way to New York City to pursue their own dreams, leaving their parents behind in the dust. When their parents decide to follow their children to the city, they become homeless – a heartbreaking moment for the children, but there is nothing they can do about it.

Even in the midst of it all, the family still stuck together.

Contrary to its premise, this book was amazing and I highly recommend it to anyone who has experienced or is experiencing love of some kind. I don’t normally read memoirs as I often find them dull and simply a recount of a person’s life, but this memoir was much more than that, and it touched me in a way I can’t fully express.

This book will make you laugh and cry out in disbelief, and that is why it is so amazing.

-writersblock55

26 thoughts on “Book Review 4 – The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls

  1. I will immediately grasp your rss as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please allow me recognize in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  2. Thanks for liking my blog Rose! On the right-hand side at the bottom there is a heading that says “Follow Writer’s Block” and there is a follow button you can click on below that. You will receive notifications of new blog posts that I make via email 🙂

  3. I was very pleased to chance this web-site. I desired to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!! I decidedly enjoyed every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked and look for new stuff your blog site.

  4. I simply want to tell you that I am very new to blogging and site-building and definitely enjoyed you’re web-site. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your website . You certainly come with fantastic stories. Appreciate it for revealing your web-site.

  5. Hello there, I discovered your website by the use of Google while searching for a related subject, your website came up, it appears good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  6. Generally I don’t learn article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very great post.

    • That’s a good suggestion, do you mind elaborating on it a little? Do you mean that I should also say why I didn’t enjoy the book as well, to appeal to different people? I love new suggestions and I’m really happy to hear what you have to say, so please let me know exactly what you mean and I’ll take it into account. Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog.

  7. I still can not quite believe that I could often be one of those reading through the important tips found on your web blog. My family and I are really thankful on your generosity and for offering me the potential to pursue the chosen career path. Thank you for the important information I acquired from your web site.

    • Haha thanks! I just used one of the design templates on wordpress.com, it really wasn’t hard at all, I didn’t have to do any of the programming myself. This theme is called Matala and it’s free once you have a wordpress account and blog. Hope that was helpful, and thanks for stopping by!

  8. Superior graphic design, optimisation plus coordinate superior get-togethers, superior article content. All the things members is right! It is actually incredible that you can many interact in consequently without difficulty.

Leave a Reply

